WAIT LIST C.A.R.E.S. SERVICES
Federal Coronavirus Aid, Relief, and Economic Security (CARES) Act funding for temporary, one-time services for individuals on the DSPD waiting list (as of September 1, 2020) are now available. These services will be available until December 30, 2020 to individuals who have a specific need due to the COVID-19 pandemic.
You may qualify for the following services:
- Temporary caregiver compensation and/or one-time respite services; limited availability based on the greatest need up to approximately 25% of individuals on the waiting list
- Masks, gloves, and hand sanitizer available to all individuals waiting
- Assistive technology like tablets for telehealth and social online visits available to all individuals waiting
- Meals on Wheels available to individuals waiting that are 22 years of age and older
Click HERE for more information about each of these services. To benefit from these services you must submit a request by September 13, 2020.
For assistance please contact: dspdWLcares@utah.gov or 1-844-275-3773.
Para más información en Español, contacte a: email@example.com o 801-243-6114
The Utah Parent Center (UPC) is providing training to support you in filling out the request form. They will also support you in filling out paperwork for those approved to receive temporary caregiver compensation and/or one time respite services. You can reach out to the UPC by contacting firstname.lastname@example.org or 801-272-1051.
We are grateful for the priority that Utah’s state legislators, with leadership from Representative Eliason and Representative Gibson and the Governor’s support have placed upon advocating for individuals with disabilities on the waiting list by approving this funding.
Caregiver Compensation and Respite Services:
These services are not guaranteed for all individuals waiting for DSPD services that apply. Approximately 25% of those on the waiting list, based on the greatest need, will be able to receive these supports.
Caregiver compensation is a new service option allowed temporarily during the COVID-19 emergency. Parents, spouses, and guardians of an individual using Division of Services for People with Disabilities (DSPD) services are all considered to be caregivers. A Caregiver can be paid for up to 40 hours per week to provide direct care to their loved one.
Respite care is care provided by a trained person that temporarily relieves parents or caregivers from the day-to-day care they provide to the individual with disabilities. It can be provided in the family’s home, in the home of the respite provider or in a specialized facility, depending on the needs and preferences of the family or individual.
Both Caregiver Compensation and Respite services use our Self-Administered Services (SAS) model which includes working with a fiscal agent to manage payroll, help with budgeting, and completing paperwork. In Respite services a family member acts as the employer of record and is responsible for hiring and training respite staff.
Masks, gloves, and hand sanitizer:
Personal Protective Equipment (PPE) is available to all individuals waiting for DSPD services that apply. This allows the individual to safely engage in community activities. It can also be used with respite services to keep the person and their staff safe in the person’s home.
Available PPE includes:
- 2 boxes of 100 standard surgical gloves
- 1 box of standard surgical masks
- A one gallon bottle of hand sanitizer
A tablet is available to all individuals waiting for DSPD services that apply. Tablets can be used for telehealth medical and mental health appointments as well as social/emotional support to stay in touch with family and friends through video conferencing. This device can not be solely used for school or entertainment purposes.
Meals on Wheels:
Meals on Wheels are available for all individuals waiting that are 22 years of age and older. Meals on Wheels provides nutritious meals that are delivered to your home. Delivery dates and times will vary depending on where you live as this service is provided through your Area Agency on Aging (AAA). Special diets requirements such as ground meat and mechanical soft are available.