How does Intake Work?
DSPD has intake workers on staff whose primary responsibility is to work with you to determine if you or your loved one is eligible for services. Click the button below to apply online or call 1-844-275-3773 and choose the “Apply for Services” option to speak with an intake worker.
During the intake process, you will be asked to provide information to the Division which demonstrates your qualifying disability in one of the areas that DSPD serves. That information may include:
A great deal of information is necessary to determine eligibility and to identify needed services, so it is helpful to start the process as early as possible.
90 Days to Complete
You have 90 days to complete the intake process. If you are unable to complete the intake process within those 90 days, you will be placed on inactive status. You may continue your application at any time and are not penalized whatsoever when you are place on inactive status. If at any time you wish to continue the intake process, an intake worker will be more than happy to assist you.
If a significant amount of time has passed you will be responsible to update any information that is no longer current.
Families can send the forms (1-1 and intake packet) by mail to DSPD or by email attachment to firstname.lastname@example.org
Notice of Agency Action and Hearing Rights Form
After you have submitted all information required, DSPD will mail you a Notice of Agency Action and Hearing Rights Form.
This form will inform you whether you have been determined eligible for DSPD services. It will also inform you as to your hearing rights, should you disagree with DSPD’s decision.
What Happens when People Meet Eligibility Requirements?
Once you have been determined eligible for DSPD services, an intake worker will assess the individual’s need.
The Needs Assessment tool establishes a “needs” score, which indicates the level or severity of need for services. This score is generally based on: 1) urgency of need, 2) severity of the applicant’s disability, 3) parental caregiver’s ability, and 4) length of time on the waiting list. This determines the rank on the waiting list. The Division is not usually able to offer immediate services to eligible people due to funding constraints, which are allocated by the Utah State Legislature. 85% of allocated funds go to those identified as having the most critical needs, while 15% go to those waiting for only respite services. Once placed on the waiting list, the person will wait until there are sufficient funds to bring them off and into services or their needs change. As funds become available, individuals on the waiting list are notified by a DSPD intake worker and brought into services.
For more information on the Waiting List and how funds from the Utah State Legislature are used to bring people off the waiting list and into services, please look at our section on How the Waiting List Works.
To find out if you or a loved one may be eligible for services through the Division of Services for People with Disabilities, click here to apply online or call us at 1-844-ASK-DSPD or 1-844-275-3773 and choose the apply for services option to speak with an intake worker;
- Or -
You may start the intake process immediately by completing one of the following applicable intake packets and returning it to the Division of Services for People with Disabilities.